Thursday, May 15, 2008

Thrice - The Alchemy Index Vols. III & IV (2008)

The second half of The Alchemy Index was released about a month ago and is equally amazing as the first half. Unlike all the other elements, the Air volume doesn't "sound" as much as its element as the other volumes do but besides that its probably the most solid volume. Earth is all done with acoustic guitar and percussion instruments in a very folky way that has a really great feel. Definitely check out this second half.

Vol III: Air

  1. "Broken Lungs" - 4:14
  2. "The Sky Is Falling" - 4:21
  3. "A Song for Milly Michaelson" - 5:07
  4. "Daedalus" - 6:00
  5. "As the Crow Flies" - 2:22
  6. "Silver Wings" - 2:10

Vol IV: Earth

  1. "Moving Mountains" - 2:55
  2. "Digging My Own Grave" - 3:04
  3. "The Earth Isn't Humming" - 4:58
  4. "The Lion and the Wolf" - 2:42
  5. "Come All You Weary" - 4:08
  6. "Child of Dust" - 3:09


goldenmantra said...

I've certainly heard of the band Thrice before but never really felt compelled to listen to their music. I saw these Alchemy Volumes and thought the concept behind it was very imaginative so I went ahead and downloaded Earth and Air to see what they were like, and they surpassed my assumptions. I eventually got Water and Fire. The Alchemy Index Volumes are very very solid in their instrumentation and creativity. It shows the eclectic boundaries of the band and should be listened to by any doubters of this band.

InstanthumanJustaddcoffee said...

for reallll