Thursday, February 21, 2008

Hella - Hold Your Horse Is (2002)

Hella is a noise/mathrock band (see a trend yet? I promise more variety very soon!) band from northern California with their own brand of sound. This is their first full-length album and it was back when the band only consisted of a guitarist and a drummer. There are some electronic influences on some pieces but a lot of it is straight-forward guitar and drums going at it. Also, Zach Hill (the drummer in Hella) is probably the most ridiculous drummer. His technical skill and eccentricity is exceeded by no other drummer i am aware of. Just listen.

  1. "The D. Elkan" – 0:43
  2. "Biblical Violence" – 3:03
  3. "Been a Long Time Cousin" – 3:50
  4. "Republic of Rough and Ready" – 3:44
  5. "1-800-GHOST-DANCE" – 3:44
  6. "Brown Metal" – 3:54
  7. "Cafeteria Bananas" – 3:40
  8. "City Folk Sitting, Sitting" – 7:06
  9. "Better Get a Broom!" – 4:20
Hold Your Horse Is

1 comment:

blindfold said...

This one's no longer available :(